Login
Start Free Trial Are you a business?? Click Here

Red Oak Wear Reviews

4.1 Rating 262 Reviews
74 %
of reviewers recommend Red Oak Wear
4.1
Based on 262 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 70%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Red Oak Wear Reviews
I am very unhappy with the purchase of a school jumper for my daughter. The price and delivery were fine, but after a wash cycle at 40 degrees, it had shrunk and is now useless. £22 down the drain….
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Good afternoon Joanne. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and I am sorry to hear that on this occasion, you were unhappy with the quality of your purchase. I am a little surprised to read this as we do choose these jumpers for many reasons, one of which is because of their mix of acrylic and cotton, they are not subject to shrinkage. Having said that, we would like to take the opportunity to look into this for you with our manufacturer so if you would be kind enough to email us directly on Schoolwear@redoakwear.co.uk
Posted 5 months ago
I’m afraid my review isn’t great as it took 4 weeks for my order to arrive. I sent 2 emails which no one ever replied to and when I phoned although helpful I was promised a call back which never came. Even though I was assured the products were in stock they didn’t arrive and when I phoned again they hadn’t been sent. That person kindly posted and they arrived the next day but I placed the order on 29th August and products arrived 22nd September! I like to support small business and avoid Amazon etc when I can but in this instance it wasn’t a good experience
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Quality of products is good but the delivery turnaround time is apalling, three weeks is ludicrous.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Attended the pop up shop at my sons new school and they didn’t have all the uniform I needed (this also happened a few years previously with my older son) they then advised which size I needed and said I could order online. However because I then only needed 1 item I got charged the £5 delivery charge. I would have been better off ordering everything online and would have spent enough for feee delivery. Surely if you have made the effort to go to the pop up shop delivery should be waived the same as most high street shops do if they need to order online for you? The also charge £5 delivery for a simple school badge which could be sent in a small envelope for normal postage. This doesn’t seem fair.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to place a review and we are sorry that you feel disappointed with our service. It takes a great deal of time and effort to run a pop up shop at one of the schools we supply but it usually means we can provide a better service for our customers as it then means you don't have to order online or come into the shop during our busiest times. Sadly, it is virtually impossible to ensure that we have enough stock to supply everyone at the pop up shops as, until they arrive, we have no idea what sizes and what quantities etc., they will be needing. For this reason, it does mean that we do run out of some of the sizes on the day. However, whilst there, you are usually able to try on sizes as we try to keep back a sample size of everything. That way, you can either pop to the shop knowing what sizes you require, or order online, again, knowing the sizes you require. In regards to badges, we don't usually take those to our pop up shops as the badges are already embroidered onto the blazers (which is the only item that uses those badges), so unfortunately, you wouldn't have been able to purchase that on the day anyway. Our staff are always very helpful when we do run out of stock, and we would often suggest 'not' purchasing some of the items from us on the day to make sure that any online orders would then in fact qualify for the free delivery for goods over £45. Unfortunately, we are unable to offer free delivery in these cases as the orders need to be processed through our online system. We do still remain a small family run business and so often, aren't able to offer the same as the big high street names might. What we do offer is a personal service within our shop or for ease, the option to shop online (in addition to offering the pop up shop at many of our schools). With regards to the postage options available to you. To make our processing times quicker, we just operate a flat rate of £4.95 regardless of the size of the package. This rate includes sundries like packaging and staff time taken to process and pack the online orders themselves.
Posted 7 months ago
I ordered a blazer in size 44" to replace the one my soon has but it's come up smaller and can't be done up , I got he's first blazer from uniform wise and the blazer fitted perfectly but the one I received from you has come up smaller , he goes to woodlands secondary school in Basildon, I don't have the invoice so I can't send it back so I'm stuck with it and hoping my son doesn't need to do it up as I don't have much money so can't afford to get the next size up .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Good morning Clare As a new supplier of Woodlands School, I believe that we use a different manufacturer for our blazers to the previous suppliers and we are sorry to hear that the sizing is a little different. We do urge our customers to contact us if there are any issues with their order as it is our aim to help our customers as much as possible. I can assure you that if you had contacted us we would not have refused an exchange for you as you are within your returns period (assuming the item is 'as new' with the tags still in place). In terms of any additional cost for the next size up, again, please do not hesitate to contact us, as we are able to source a larger size and there would be no additional cost for a larger size.
Posted 1 year ago
I had to wait close to 3 weeks for my order with no prior communication advising processing/delivery times. I understand stock availability may impact delivery however communicating this can help manage expectations.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Good evening Pamela. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am of course, sorry to hear that we haven't met your expectations with regards to service. I can see by your order that it was placed on the 16th September and was shipped on the 30th September. This is a little longer than we would have liked, however, it is within the 10-14 days stated on our website with regards to online ordering timeframe. Unfortunately, we were waiting on delivery of one of your items which is made to order for the school and as such, we could not send your order out immediately as we were waiting on stock.
Posted 1 year ago
Whilst I did have a good online ordering and delivery experience I unfortunately did not have a good experience when returning some items to exchange for larger sizes in store. Despite checking the returns policy before returning which at the time stated that only tags needed to still be on with no reference to the packaging (it has since been changed following our exchange), I was told in the shop that they wouldn't accept the items due to not being in the original packaging. This was completely unreasonable as this was an online order which my daughter needed to try on, and the items were not damaged and were resalable, so there were no grounds to refuse my return. In addition, I contacted the Citizen's Advice Bureau to check this rule and was referred to the following information which clearly states that customers are not required to return items in the original packaging and that this would be considered "an unfair contract term" (see link below) I did eventually get agreement to exchange my items but was left feeling I had been badly let down by the customer service I received which forced me into a position of having to defend my rights as a customer. It is an unfair and unreasonable policy as stated by the Citizen's Advice Bureau and I was extremely disappointed having shopped at Red Oak Roller for the last 8 years through my daughter's primary years and now secondary and have never had an experience like this. https://www.citizensadvice.org.uk/consumer/changed-your-mind/changing-your-mind-about-something-youve-bought/#:~:text=You%20don't%20have%20to,it%20wasn't%20packaged%20properly.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Good afternoon. I would like to take a moment to respond to your review. Firstly, I am very sorry you feel you have had a bad experience in shopping with us. I can however confirm that it is our company policy as stated on the website that returns meet certain criteria in order that we can re-sell anything that comes back as a return. Had the policy been checked during your visit, and I apologise that it wasn't in this case, your attention would have been drawn to the following points which were in fact already on our website and therefore, were not amended following your visit: Items must be returned in a resalable condition, unmarked and unworn Items must have tags attached and returned in their original packaging Whilst we do completely understand things need to be tried on, I believe your return was for two packs of exactly the same size, which rather than one of them having been opened using the sealed opening, had both been ripped open damaging the packaging. As a result of this, our staff were just following our company protocol with regards to returns. As explained to you on the day, unfortunately, we don't hold spare packaging due to the packaging taking place at our manufacturer and not at our premises. The staff in our shop, as in all shops are asked to follow procedures when considering a return and this is why your attention would have been drawn to them not being returned with their packaging in a resalable condition. As mentioned, however, you were given an exchange for your goods on the day despite the packaging being damaged.
Posted 1 year ago
When the parcel arrived and was opened none of the uniform apart from one item came in a sealed packet or had any labels on them. Truthfully it all looks second hand. Very disappointed spending all the money expecting nice uniform to arrive and be presented the way it did.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We are sorry to hear that you weren't happy with the goods you received as that is not what we would have hoped for. I can assure you that the goods you received were all brand new and the clothing we use is all approved and often dictated by the schools themselves. With regards to your concerns over packaging and tags, please let me explain. We very rarely package items individually as we are conscious of the impact on the environment and therefore try to avoid excessive packaging (especially plastic packaging). With regards to the labels, this would be due to us sending out freshly embroidered items. Again, in an attempt to avoid wastage, we would only put tags on our items when they reach our stock room so that they can be sold in the shop.
Posted 1 year ago
This is our 2nd batch of PE t shirts as the other ones have shrunk in the wash. Also disappointing the deliver free to school option has disappeared and postage is almost £5 just for 2 t shirts.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Good afternoon Helen. Thank you for your honest review and I am sorry that in this instance you are disappointed with the quality of the t-shirts. I would be happy to raise this issue with the school to see if they have had any other negative feedback. In terms of the deliver to school option. This isn't something that we offer on any of our standard school uniform items as it causes extra work and administration for the schools themselves. We only use this option for bulk ordered items such as leavers hoodies. We do however offer a free delivery option for all orders over £45
Posted 2 years ago
Service is below average. No updates provided regarding progress of online orders.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I ordered online the Shenfield High School PE top and shorts in the next size up and when they arrived they are exactly the same size as what my son currently has.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Uniform way too over priced. How is a blazer £94? Campion is a brilliant boys school uniform is much more affordable so why must BUCH be so different? Honestly had I investigated the price before I applied for this school I probably wouldn't have sent her there sadly, solely based on your price list. My daughter is still a child she could lose the blazer or other items and I'd have to pay £94 again. Liberties. BUCH already has an extensive uniform list so to then make it extortionate prices I feel really bad for people who may not have been able to afford it or are struggling.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Thank you for your feedback. We totally understand your concerns and appreciate the cost involved when purchasing uniform. We sell the blazer on behalf of the school who dictate the manufacturing. They are a bespoke item which incur a higher cost than the normal plain blazer. We would appreciate if you could feed your comments back to the school. Many thanks.
Posted 3 years ago
Sizes don’t match, sizes are way too big for an average kid. 9-11 will fit 12 years old etc
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We haven't had an issues with the sizing of this product to date but if you wish to return them for an exchange or refund our shop is currently open Monday-Friday 9-5 and Saturday 9-1.
Posted 3 years ago
Good quality product poor delivery timescales!!! Took far longer than was told the delivery would be.my daughter got one day to wear out of the school year! Really disappointed
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry you were unhappy with our delivery timescales, the despatch dates were set by the school and was totally out of our hands. They asked us to set a window, allowing customers to order hoodies from 1/7/21 - 15/7/21 and then we agreed with them to send them out on this date and all hoodies were despatched the very next day on 16/7/21.
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, I ordered a pair of red PE shorts towards the end of July and I still haven’t received them. Can someone contact me to let me know when I might receive my order. Regards Carly 07584091078
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Thank you for your review. I had looked into your order and it appears you placed your order on 24th August and we despatched this 5 working days later via Royal Mail. It appears that the parcel never reached you. As a good will gesture we have sent the item out to you again.
Posted 4 years ago
The delivery system is shocking recieved an email on the first to say my stuff has been dispatched... I ring up 5 days later as still nothing and all I get told is to cross my fingers and hope it's there before he starts school... I ordered it so he would have it before school but the fact it took over a week to get to me ( I finally got it on the 8th is disgusting to be completely honest makes me wary about ordering again
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Thank you for leaving a review. When you received the shipped email from us this is the day we actually posted your parcel. Unfortunately we rely on Royal Mail for the majority of our shipping and due to the pandemic they are taking longer than expected to make their deliveries. We apologise for this but the delivery service is out of our control.
Posted 4 years ago
Never have full stock of uniform.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
We are sorry to hear that the products you were after were not available. We do our best to keep a good range of all products in stock for all our Schools. Please do give us a call on 01268 722680 to see if we can assist you any further wiith the uniform you require.https://dash.reviews.co.uk/
Posted 5 years ago
Red Oak Wear is rated 4.1 based on 262 reviews